REVIEW BLITZ: The Wright Brother by K.A. Linde

twbbanner

THE WRIGHT BROTHER

By K.A Linde

Standalone – Contemporary Romance

Release Day: February 28th, 2017

TWB Amazon

I’d dated his brother.

He didn’t remember and I wish I could forget.

I may have sworn off the Wright family a long time ago. But when I returned home, Jensen Wright crashed into my life with the confidence of a billionaire CEO and the sex appeal of a god. Even I couldn’t resist our charged chemistry, or the way he fit into my life like a missing puzzle piece.

Too bad he’d forgotten the one thing that could destroy us.

Because Jensen Wright doesn’t share. Not with anyone. And if his brother finds out, this could all go down in flames.

When it all was said and done, was he the Wright brother?

17022039_1473725109327070_254992680471303103_n

✦ Amazon → http://amzn.to/2lMbk4W
✦ Amazon UK → http://amzn.to/2mCDXza
✦ iBooks → http://apple.co/2k0SOlA
✦ B&N → http://bit.ly/2k5c9SJ
✦ Kobo → http://bit.ly/2iS3O7a
✦ Google Play → http://bit.ly/2jcQpEC
✦ Goodreads → http://bit.ly/2k4XyLh

teaser3_CS

Review

I can’t believe this is my first read by K.A. Linde…I probably have almost all of her other books on my Amazon account, but I just haven’t found the time to read them, so when I saw that she had a new series coming out, I knew I wanted to get an insider’s look at her alpha male heroes and her feisty heroines, and with the introduction of the Wright siblings and Emery Robinson, I definitely understand why so many readers adore Linde’s characters and angsty storylines.

First of all, can I just say how much I ADORE the title of Jensen and Emery’s book! I’m an English teacher so words are my thing, and anytime someone cleverly uses a play on words that articulates the contents/issues of a book, I’m all in!

I have to admit…I didn’t really know if Jensen was the RIGHT one for Emery through most of their story. His reputation…his baggage…his half-truths…his secrets…his instincts to run…his trust issues – all of these made me question what kind of relationship he could have with Emery, not only because of all that he was, but also because of how Emery felt about Jensen’s family due to her past relationship with his brother, Landon. But, K.A. Linde allows Jensen to explain himself, and because readers are privy to his internal thoughts, it helps us to see the big picture of things rather than focus solely on his current actions. It doesn’t mean that Jensen isn’t beyond frustrating, because he most definitely is, but readers are able to understand why he’s so guarded…why he follows a certain set of rules…why he chooses to have flings outside of his small hometown. It doesn’t make what he does to Emery right, but it does help explain his inability to trust and his determination to leave Emery alone, even if it only lasts a short amount of time.

It’s easy to understand why Emery seems to be the “President of the Anti-Wright Family Fan Club” when she returns to Lubbock; she shares a painful history, not only with Landon Wright, but with the entire family when she and Landon were dating in high school. It’s not easy to get over a shared past that crushed her heart, but the spark she feels with Jensen isn’t something she can easily dismiss, so while she was already hurt by one Wright brother, she heads into this pseudo relationship with Jensen, knowing that history could very well repeat itself in the worst possible way.

There definitely is an abundance of miscommunication and avoidance on Jensen and Emery’s part when things don’t go exactly how they want them to, and while there is a modicum of justification due to what they both experienced at the hands of other people, it still makes things more complicated than they need to be, especially when not confronting the issues and making snap judgments are sure to make everything worse rather than better for all those involved.

I really enjoyed The Wright Brother; it was frustrating at times and I didn’t like Jensen all that much at the beginning, but as the details of his past were revealed and his own thoughts were shared about why he is the way he is, the mistakes he makes are easier to understand. I adored Emery’s character. She’s sassy but also loving; her sister and her family mean the world to her, and she’s not afraid to stand up for herself and use spiteful words to put nasty people in their place. Some readers might take issue with the fact that Emery seems to rebound too quickly from her previous relationship, but it’s clear that that connection had been fractured long before she called it quits.

Although I didn’t really care much for Landon Wright in The Wright Brother, I am quite curious about his book. His marriage perplexes me because not only is his wife a jealous cow but the way she treats him is deplorable, and I know there has to be more to the story when it comes to why he’s with her, but it really boggles my mind that he puts up with her, so it will be interesting to get the whole story from Landon’s perspective, especially when it was hinted at in Emery And Jensen’s story who the “other” woman will be.

4 Poison Apples

teaser5_cs

KylaAbout the Author

K.A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of more than fifteen novels including the Avoiding series and the Record series. She has a Masters degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. She loves reading fantasy novels, geeking out over Star Wars, binge-watching Supernatural, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super adorable puppies.

WEBSITE / FACEBOOK / TWITTER / INSTAGRAM

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

