RELEASE BLITZ AND REVIEW: Anything You Can Do by R.S. Grey

Title: Anything You Can Do
Author: R.S. Grey
Release Date: Feb 2, 2017
Add to TBR

Lucas Thatcher has always been my enemy.

It’s been a decade since I’ve seen him, but our years on opposite coasts were less of a lasting peace and more of a temporary cease-fire. Now that we’re both back in our small town, I know Lucas expects the same old war, but I’ve changed since high school—and from the looks of it, so has he.

The arrogant boy who was my teenage rival is now a chiseled doctor armed with intimidating good looks. He is Lucas Thatcher 2.0, the new and improved version I’ll be competing with in the workplace instead of the schoolyard.

I’m not worried; I’m a doctor now too, board-certified and sexy in a white coat. It almost feels like winning will be too easy—until Lucas unveils a tactic neither of us has ever used before: sexual warfare.

The day he pushes me up against the wall and presses his lips to mine, I can’t help but wonder if he’s filling me with passion or poison. Every fleeting touch is perfect torture. With every stolen kiss, my walls crumble a little more. After all this time, Lucas knows exactly how to strip me of my defenses, but I’m in no hurry to surrender.

Knowing thy enemy has never felt so good.

 

Review

 I don’t commonly find people describing their hometown as their old battlefield, but that’s definitely the case for Daisy Bell in R.S. Grey’s latest release, Anything You Can Do, and it’s exactly why she hasn’t spent any significant time in Hamilton in the past 11 years. But that all changes when she’s presented with an opportunity to return home and take over McCormick Family Practice as the town’s doctor, proving once and for all that Daisy Bell has always and will always come out on top when it comes to competing with her childhood nemesis, Lucas Thatcher. Too bad she’s in for a rude awakening when the bane of her existence joins the practice as well as its second doctor.There’s not a more perfect title for Daisy and Lucas’ story than Anything You Can Do; it epitomizes the competitiveness at play in their long standing rivalry, and it speaks to each of their missions to outperform, outwit, and out succeed the other, and even though the playing field is now at a professional level, childish antics and devious tricks are still a part of their battle plans regardless of the repercussions of such acts in terms of their careers.

Daisy is such an intriguing character because I truly believe she protests too much when it comes to her disdain for Lucas. She’s obsessed with proving she’s better than him; in fact, that is her primary motivation for everything, and because readers are privy to her views on their history, it’s easy to form opinions about why she acts the way she does and what that means for her true feelings for her next door neighbor.

Daisy’s hatred for Lucas is so blatant that onlookers of their crazy rivalry don’t know how to take their complicated relationship, but as a reader looking in, it’s clear that Daisy and Lucas’ feelings for one another matter in more ways than maybe they’re even aware of, which proves that the adage of people not being able to see what’s right in front of them is a truth that Daisy and Lucas need to learn before things get out of hand with their drive to one up one another and destroy what might be a relationship full of love instead contempt.

R.S. Grey is definitely my go to author for light-hearted, low angst romantic comedies. Every time I read one of her books, I can’t help but laugh out loud at her characters’ crazy antics and the cheeky banter that Grey infuses into her story lines. Daisy and Lucas are quite the comical pair and for some reason, as I was reading Anything You Can Do, Pat Benatar’s “Love is a Battlefield” kept popping into my head:

“We are strong, no one can tell us we’re wrong

Searchin’ our hearts for so long

Both of us knowing

Love is a battlefield”

28 years is definitely a long time to be at war, but when it comes to love and hate, those involved have to be the ones to figure out where they truly stand regardless of how they’ve always acted and the harsh words they’ve constantly used to keep their rival at an arm’s length.

4 Poison Apples

I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things… everyday.

I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors are Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things “funny”. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.

  
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

