RELEASE WEEK BLITZ: REVIEW, EXCERPT, AND GIVEAWAY: HONOR by Jay Crownover

honor-rwb-banner

 

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Jay Crownover returns with her most complicated hero yet,

in the first book in the romantic suspense series The Breaking Point. 

 

honorpb

Don’t be fooled.

Don’t make excuses for me.

I am not a good man.

I’ve seen things no one should, done things no one should talk about. Honor and conscience have no place in my life. But I’ve fought and I’ve survived. I’ve had to.

The first time I saw her dancing on that seedy stage in that second rate club, I felt my heart pulse for the first time. Keelyn Foster was too young, too vibrant for this place, and I knew in an instant that I would make her mine. But first I had to climb my way to the top. I had to have something more to offer her.

I’m here now, money is no object and I have no equal. Except for her. She’s disappeared. But don’t worry, I will find her and claim her. She will be mine.

Like I said, don’t be fooled. I am not the devil in disguise… I’m the one standing front and center.

Order HONOR in ebook or paperback, releasing 10/18/16

Amazon US | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo 

Amazon UK | Amazon Canada | Amazon Australia

Add to your Goodreads

honor-rwb-teaser-1

Review

There’s never been a character who’s personified the setting in which he lives like Nassir Gates. Even without his backstory, it was crystal clear that he belonged in the Point…he belonged in a place that was shrouded in death, darkness, and destruction, and he used its evil components to build an empire…to become the devil himself…half monster/half man with the sins and scars of his past to fuel his future – one that made him feared…made him a target, but also made him a hell of a lot of money and allowed him to take the keys to a devious and demented kingdom and control all aspects of it with only one look…with only one order.

But power breeds enemies and despite how unaffected Nassir is by the soulless environment he lives in, he has a weakness, and it comes in the form of a feisty vixen who has owned him body and soul since he first arrived on the scene, ready to make a name for himself and become the devil he was meant to be. Nassir and Keelyn have danced around each other for far too long and now that Nassir is in a position to build his kingdom up, he needs the right queen by his side, and he won’t settle for anyone but Key because even if she doesn’t realize it yet, she’s Nassir’s equal in every way…she’s his perfect match and while they’ve taunted and tormented each other for years, Nassir understands that the only way to solidify Key by his side is to prove to her that she’s strong enough to stand next to him and that he won’t treat her like a possession or take away her independence, he’ll just claim her as his and offer her the keys to his devilish empire.

The Point might not look like an environment where honor can be acquired, but it’s exactly for that reason that righteousness has its place in the city’s sludge and indecency, and while it’s definitely not most people’s view of the word, those people who are willing and able to fight for something they believe in, regardless of what side of the law it’s on, will find a way to make their own kind of honor in a dwelling that seems to do nothing but chew people up and spit them out, leaving them with nothing.

Nassir has garnered respect from others, even if fear is the motivator, of his intelligence and abilities, and he uses that to manipulate and mold his empire, looking out for himself and those who mean something to him. Key is the center of Nassir’s world, even when she was fighting to not be, so his honor comes in the form of his care for her…his protection of her…his love for her and his ability to become “a real boy” despite his past…despite his devilish ways.

Nassir epitomizes all of the Point’s nastier aspects and he wears them well, refusing to be someone he isn’t and finding a way to use what was forced upon him and what he was taught in order to call his own shots and work for his own cause.

Key also uses the Point’s dark allure for her own gain, and even though she didn’t want to take a walk with the devil, there’s no other journey she would take because he accepts her for who she is and what she wants out of life and they both fight like hell to achieve the power and respect that solidifies their rule as the King & Queen of the Point.

I absolutely adored Nassir and Keelyn’s story. Jay Crownover did an amazing job of characterizing just how anti-heroic Nassir is in a way that actually allowed him to be a man of scruples just on his own terms and in his own way. The storyline was exactly what I was hoping Crownover would give her readers. Nassir has already been through hell and he continues to dominate that setting with a multitude of enemies gunning for him, but Crownover doesn’t create any elaborate power plays against him or exacerbate situations that put Nassir and Key in any greater risk than they already are just because of who they are. The issues and events that do occur are justified and make sense due to Nassir’s position and Crownover clearly illustrates how sins of the past can easily damage the present/future in ways that were never recognized, forcing Nassir to realize that there is always a choice to be made and consequences to deal with regardless of which path is taken.

A copy was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss.

5 Poison apples

Excerpt

KEELYN

              Maybe if I hadn’t spent the last six months slinging pancakes and greasy hash to hungover hipsters and avoiding the too-curious eyes of the cops who like to hit up the diner for early-morning breakfast, I would have noticed the ominous shift in the air.

              Before I came to Denver six months ago, my senses had been honed to pick up on the slightest threat. Before, anything that might be dangerous, that might put me in peril, had made my skin tingle, made everything inside of me vibrate with awareness. Now I had settled into a simple, dreary rhythm. Every day was the same as the one before it and there was no outside threat constantly hounding me, hunting me, haunting me. I let my guard down. I had gone soft, and as a result the biggest danger of them all managed to slip into my new normal without giving any kind of hint he was there.

              My nonslip shoe—that were probably the ugliest things ever made but absolutely necessary considering the greasy food the tiny kitchen pumped out—squeaked on the laminate floor as I made my way over to the lone patron who had taken the last available seat in my section. The massive plastic menu completely covered his face, but the Rolex on his wrist and the perfect cut of his suit jacket let me know he wasn’t my typical kind of customer. There wasn’t a flannel shirt or police blues in sight, and as I got closer, a whiff of something exotic and familiar engulfed my senses and stopped me in my tracks. Of all the things I had left behind, he was the one I had tried hardest to forget.

              The tingling across my skin spread. My tummy tightened. Blood rushed loudly between my ears. My shaking fingers curled around the pen in my hand like a weapon. Before I could pull it together and walk away, the menu lowered and I was pinned to the spot, immobilized by eyes the color of spice rum.

              They were wicked eyes. Eyes that saw far too much and gave nothing away. Eyes I daydreamed about. Eyes that caused me to wake up in a cold sweat. Eyes that turned me inside out and shook me up as they made a slow perusal from the top of my head to the tips of my god-awful shoes, returning to my face and staying there as I struggled to keep my shit together.

              He slowly put the menu down on the cracked tabletop and leaned back in the booth. He was strikingly out of place here and I absolutely hated how that sexy twist of his mouth, a mouth that I dreamed about almost every night, made my traitorous heart flutter and my pulse kick.

              I was also strikingly out of place here, but I’d learned to fake it. He, obviously, never bothered to fake anything. He wasn’t a man with virtuous intentions and he never pretended to be.

              Gone were the mile-high stilettos that I always wore. In their place I now donned work shoes that prevented me from falling on my ass as I ran food and dirty dishes to and from the kitchen. I was hiding in plain sight, knowing that the last place on earth anyone who might come looking for me would check out would be this greasy spoon. This was the opposite of me and the life I had always lived, so even though I could afford better, craved more, this was where I needed to be…until he showed up.

 

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

honor-rwb-teaser-2

jay-crownover-headshotAbout Jay Crownover

Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men, The Point,and the Saints of Denver series. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

