FOSTER AN AUTHOR DAY 4: Author Interview: Amy McKinley

taken-large hidden-large

Here’s an insider’s look at who Amy McKinley is and what it’s like to be an author as well as some fun information about her:) 

When did you decide to become a writer?

I think I’ve always wanted to be a writer but when I was young I didn’t understand how to turn that path into a career. It wasn’t until a few years ago when I started working for a creative company that it clicked. While I interviewed for the position I realized I wanted to write a novel.

Why do you write?

I crave the creative outlet. I love when I’m figuring out the plot and the puzzle pieces begin to fall into place, or the scene changes because the characters throw a curve ball.

Do you write every day?

It’s heaven to do some form or writing every day but it doesn’t always work that way. Family and life intervene. If I’m able to plot, write, or edit I’m thrilled and usually manage to do so in some form at least five days a week. If it’s been too long since I’ve sunk into writing a story the urge to do so is all consuming.

Do you listen to music when you write?

Absolutely. I have several playlists that fade into the background as I type. I don’t even notice the music but it seems to aid in creativity.

Where do your ideas come from?

They’re everywhere. Sometimes, just the sound of a particular laugh, a word someone says, or a smile will be the first conceptual spark that develops into something amazing. Although, ideas often come at the most inopportune time: in the shower, driving, or just before falling asleep. I’ve learned to keep notepads in several locations.

Do you work to an outline or do you prefer to see where an idea takes you?

I love to outline. I think that’s the control freak in me. It helps me to see where the story is going and if all the parts are where they should be. That way I can easily shuffle things around if needed. But there are times I’ll sit down and write out a scene because it has to be done.

What are your thoughts on writing a book series?

I love writing a book series. It gives readers, and the author, more time with characters we’re not ready to let go of.

What, in your opinion, are the most important elements of good writing?

Keeping the reader (and I am one of them) engaged with strong, well-developed characters, setting, and plot.

Who edited your books and why did you select him/her?

Cassiel Knight was the editor assigned by the Champagne Books for my novels. She was wonderful to work with and I look forward to future endeavors with her expertise.

Who designed your book covers?

Champagne Books assigned Trisha FitzGerald as the cover artist for both Hidden and Taken. She did a great job designing the covers.

Rapid Fire Questions:

Favorite color?

Blue. Almost all shades except pastel.

Favorite season?

Fall. The colors are beautiful and I like the cooler weather.

Favorite TV show?

Oh…there are several as we DVR them. How to list only one? Hmm. I’ve been watching iZombie lately. We watch Modern Family, Big Bang Theory, and The Flash. I still love watching re-runs of Will and Grace. There are more but I’m going to stop!

Favorite movie?

It’s a toss up between the Bourne Identity movies and August Rush. I adore romantic comedies but there are too many competing in my head to name.

Favorite quote?

There are two. I love the strength and power of this quote:  “Sometimes I wonder if love is worth fighting for. Then I look at you and I’m ready for war.” ~unknown.

“Legend says, when you can’t sleep at night, it’s because you’re awake in someone else’s dream.” ~unknown.

Phobias?

Mirrors, just at night. Yep, that’s pretty weird. When I was young I woke up in the middle of the night and saw a very distinct face in the mirror—not my own. Of course a blood-curdling scream ripped through the house until the offensive mirror was removed. Ever since then I tend to overt my eyes from the mirrors if I’ve just woken and it’s night.

Check out Amy McKinley’s books here:

Amy McKinley’s Amazon Author Page

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

