RELEASE TOUR AND CHARACTER INTERVIEWS: Penny in London by Fisher Amelie

13723882_1336842256345246_7904738125320533963_o

Release Date: August 1st

BookCover5x8_Cream_250_Final copy

Blurb

You know how everyone says when one door closes another one opens? At the time, you find this statement obnoxious as all get out because a) you don’t really know what the future holds, it certainly hasn’t been a cakewalk so far, and b) the thought of change is unbearable. You feel like your life is falling apart and everyone around is feeding you clichés like they’re made out of kale or quinoa or whatever the trend health food is right now. You don’t want kale clichés, you want double-chocolate fudge realisms, and you want them now. You just want things the way they were, but then something happens, a moment, an instant that sets you out on a path toward happiness you never knew could exist, and suddenly you think, huh, I don’t think I want double-chocolate fudge anymore. I think I’m in the mood for this heaping serving of strawberry cheesecake sitting in front of me…with a side of kale. And a pair of split pants, but we won’t get into that right now.

Graham Glenn may have tossed her in, but Oliver Finn made her feel again.

Paperback on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/…/…/0997876905/ref=la_B004ZI2PZ6_1_7…

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/penny-in-london

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/…/bo…/penny-in-london/id1139587314…

Scribd: https://www.scribd.com/book/319798379/Penny-in-London

13895026_1070610809697609_7001615546372386504_n

Character Interviews

Fisher Amelie interviews Penelope Beckett…

F: Penny, hello!

P: Hi, Fisher, long time no talk!

F: What’s the haps?

P: Well, I’m attending a friend’s wedding tomorrow.

F: Claire’s and Jasper’s, I know. I wrote it.

P: Ooh! Can you tell me what I wear? Save me some time. I haven’t bought anything yet.

F: Oh, yeah, of course. Uh, let’s see, let me think. Snaps. It was this little cornflower blue dupioni silk number. It’s a nod to the 50’s, little cap sleeves, small pleat at the natural waist, v-neck, fabric criss-crosses against the breast, comes just below the knee.

P: Dupioni silk! Fisher, that sounds a little gauche for a day wedding.

F: Trust me, Penny, it’s much more understated than it sounds.

P: It just doesn’t sound like something I’d pick out, Fisher.

F: Well you did, okay? You’ll get it at that little shop near Oli’s, your favorite one.

P: Oh, Emma & Elinor’s! I do love that shop but I’m not so sure about the dress.

F: Penny, will you just trust me?

P: I guess- but, you know, maybe I’ll also stop by that other little place by my own flat, see what they have.

F: You are as stubborn as a mule, you know that? Just stop by Emma & Elinor’s.

P: What would the harm be in stopping by another store?

F: Because it’d be a waste of your time, that’s why. I know what you wear to the wedding because I wrote the scene already!

P: Dang, baby, chill.

F: Look, we’re off topic. People are reading this.

P: All right then, ask away.

F: What’s your favorite part of your’s and Oli’s story?

P: The part where I decide not to wear dupioni silk to my friend’s wedding.

F: Penelope Beckett! You’re really starting to get on my last nerve.

P: Fisher! I don’t want to wear that. Please don’t make me wear that.

F: It’s too late! I’ve already written the scene and sent it off to my editor. It’s also with the formatter, which is a big deal because you have to be okay with whatever you sent as it’s almost impossible to reformat later. I won’t alter it to suit your whim.

P: You are very mean sometimes.

F: Sighs. You are very punkish.

P: Punkish is not a word.

F: I know this! I made it up. I can do that, you know.

P: Look at me, everyone! I’m the great and powerful Fisher Amelie! I make up words and force dupioni silk on my main characters!

F: I just don’t understand you sometimes, Penny. You pick the dress out yourself right after this interview.

P: If you say so.

F: I know so.

P: Fine.

F: Fine.

P: Fisher?

F: Yes, punk?

P: How do I wear my hair?

F: Get out. This instant, you punkish brat.

Fisher Amelie interviews Oliver Finn…

F: Hello, Oli, how are you today?

O: I’m well, Miss Amelie, and yourself?

F: I’m well, as well.

O: Well, well.

F: Shut up, Oli.

O: Laughs

F: So, I’m here to introduce you to a few of my readers. Is there anything you’d like to say to them?

O: Miss Amelie is holding me hostage. Please, anyone, alert the proper authorities! I’m- *muffled*

F: Straightens clothing. Are you ready to behave?

O: Yes, madam. Whatever you say, madam. Please don’t hurt me, madam.

F: Oli! Play along! Please! I’m growing tired of this.

O: Laughs. Fine. Get on with your questions then.

F: Why don’t you tell my readers a little about yourself.

O: Fine. My name is Oliver Finn. I am twenty-seven years old. I reside in London. I am a master leather worker. I am very handy with a polo mallet.

F: That’s all very well, Oli, but can you give my readers something with a bit more bite?

O: Leans forward. Offers a smoldering expression. As you wish, Miss Amelie.

F: Fans herself.

O: My favorite poet is Pablo Neruda. If a woman is standing, I will offer her my seat. Likewise, if I am walking with a woman down the street, I always take the outside of the sidewalk. I love children. My nieces and nephew are my favorite people in the world. I am a prolific reader. I am also fluent in French.

F: Say something then.

O: J’ai une première édition de ‘À la recherche du temps perdu.’ Tu veux le voir?

F: …

O: Shall I go on?

F: Yes, please.

O: I am fiercely loyal, for reasons you will understand when you read our story. There isn’t a day goes by that I don’t fall on my knees in gratitude for this life. But above all, and I believe this is very important, I always share my dessert.

F: All very good things, Oli.

O: Thank you, Miss Amelie.

F: Describe Penny to us.

O: Ah, Penny. Penelope Beckett is by far the cleverest girl I’ve ever encountered. She is inventive and hard working, sweet and compassionate. She is fond of children and they of her, which speaks volumes to me. She is the most beautiful woman I have ever known and I would slay dragons for her. Tell me something, Miss Amelie, have you ever known the sensation of being in the presence of the one you are meant to be with forever?

F: Yes, I have.

O: Then no doubt you will know what I mean when I say that Penelope Beckett can govern me with a mere facial expression, that she is capable of consuming the room around me, and I would stop at nothing to feel her skin, touch her hair, smell her perfume, or hear her words. Penelope Beckett owns me, happily.

F: I’m sure she would be ecstatic to know you admit as much.

O: Laughs loudly. I assure you, madam, she is very aware.

F: Oli, I’d be doing my readers an injustice if I didn’t ask you about Graham Glenn.

O: No, you wouldn’t.

F: Well, can you elaborate on what happened between you two and Penelope?

O: Absolutely not.

F: Just give them something, anything, that can convey the trouble between the three of you in the story.

O: I refuse. Speaking about him would lend him a credence I refuse to acknowledge. I will only say this, he is the scum of this earth, a friend of the devil himself.

F: Oli, I –

O: No. Stands. I believe I’ve answered enough of your questions today, Miss Amelie. If you’ll excuse me. Begins to walk off.

F: Wait! I’m not finished!

O: Turns toward Fisher. I’m afraid we’re done here. Good day, Miss Amelie.

F: Sits deflated. Well, dang, should have saved that question for last.

Author Photo2About Fisher Amelie

Fisher Amelie resides in the South with her kick ace husband slash soul mate. She earned her first ‘mama’ patch in 2009. She also lives with her Weim, Jonah, and her Beta, Whale. All these living creatures keep the belly of her life full, sometimes to the point of gluttony, but she doesn’t mind all that much because life isn’t worth living if it isn’t entertaining, right?

Fisher is the author of The Seven Deadly Series, The Sleepless Series, and The Leaving Series, and was a semi-finalist in Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel Award.

Find Fisher on Amazon! ** Find Fisher on Barnes & Noble! ** Find Fisher on Facebook! ** Find Fisher on Twitter!** Find Fisher on YouTube! ** Find Fisher on her website!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

